Accueil » Jaunt to Margaret River

Jaunt to Margaret River

Jaunt to Margaret RiverMargaret River

Three hours south of Perth, in the state of Western Australia , Margaret River is one of the most famous gourmet and wine regions of Western Australia. With more than 120 wineries , MargaretRiver produces some of the best great wines of Cabernet Sauvignon, Chardonnay , Semillon , Sauvignon Blanc , Merlot and Syrah from Australia. It’s also world-famous for its surf break. From the 15th to the 26th of April, took place the 3rd round of the Samsung Galaxy Championship of the World Surf League , the  » Drug AwareMargaret River Pro  » , crowning the Brazilian Adriano de Souza . The place is lined with stunning beaches and you can also visit prehistoric caves.

Margaret River

During our visit to Margaret River, we gave in to temptation with the visit of the  » Margaret River Chocolate Factory  » which allows you to taste free sample of its unprocessed black, white and milk chocolates. It offers a large selection of chocolates of all kinds and even chocolate without sugar ! The perfect place to go for Easter ! My favorites? The dark and milk almond, cashew and hazelnut clusters !

Margaret River

Then, a detour through « The Margaret River Dairy Company  » for a free sample tasting of all of their range of cheeses, that are of course not comparable to our French cheeses, but which offers excellent cheddar and double cream. There are also excellent fresh yogurt, plain or with fruits that, on the other hand, exceed our French yogurt !

  Margaret River

And of course, the inevitable stop in a vineyard!

Margaret River

On Cat’s advice , a friend from Perth, we let ourselves go to a tasting (yeah and again it was FREE ! Australians are the best!) of the full range of wines from the vineyard  » Hay Shed Hill ».

Margaret River

We were kindly greeted by Ulf Mueller, who shared with us his passion for wine, knowledge and advised us on associations of food and wine. We have tasted, it seems, twenty or so wines, hard to keep a clear mind! And we have made the discovery of a new grape, the Tempranillo! What a discovery! This is a Spanish grape, fairly present in Australia (never heard in France :(), black grapes, which when you drink it young is a versatile wine which goes well with appetizers, pizza and barbecue. As often in Australian vineyards, you can find something to eat in the restaurant or a café of the vineyard. So we enjoyed, in their café, a very good pizza, accompanied as you’ll know a Tempranillo! The café offers different dishes to share, a nice variety of pizzas and main course meals, desserts and a variety of cheeses including French cheeses! A highly recommended place to share a good wine with friends and family surrounded by vineyards.

Margaret River

Margaret River

Tempranillo

Thank you Ulf for this discovery!

It took us a good afternoon to recover from this gourmet day but before leaving Margaret River , we were attracted by a small cafe in the city center . This is the  » Sidekick Cafe Margaret River » . Upon entering the cafe , you are amazed by the decoration . A huge graffiti on the wall behind the counter, green plants falling from the ceiling , a showcase of more yummy cakes , servers Wow awesome ! and coffees that parade under your eyes with beautiful coffee art !

Margaret River

Margaret River

We sit , eager to receive our coffees ordered at the counter. And here comes my cappuccino with a beautiful coffee art. Australians are found of coffee art.

Margaret River

Their coffee are most of the time made with milk so baristas like to draw something on the coffee cream. This is a non easy technique, and for me , even after having received training, I quickly realised it would take many years to be successful and expert! This espresso bar offers you to customise your coffee : pour-over , cold- drip or espresso made ​​from freshly roasted Dukes’ coffee beans . This café also offers a simple and healthy menu from freshly squeezed fruit juices, avocado and tomato toast on a seeds bread, sweets such as Chai Spices Cupcakes , Proteins Bars, Carrot Cake or blueberry muffins !

 Margaret River

 Margaret River Margaret River

The coffee is traceable down to farm level, and they use the best ingredients: beyond borders of white bleached flour; baked goods rice flour, buckwheat, spelt, quinoa, chia seeds, local pecans. The straws are bio-degradable and the takeaway cups compostable.
An eco-friendly and very friendly café! A necessary step in Margaret River !

So you can’t still question on the beautiful Margaret River. If you are in Western Australia , Margaret River is a key destination for you !




References:

http://www.worldsurfleague.com/events/2015/mct/1226/drug-aware-margaret-river-pro?home=1

http://chocolatefactory.com.au

http://www.hayshedhill.com.au

http://www.mrdc.com.au

http://www.mywineandcellar.com/Cepage_Tempranillo.html

coffee art

https://www.facebook.com/SidekickMargs?fref=pb&hc_location=profile_browser

https://www.facebook.com/hayshedhillwines

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Accueil » Escapade à Margaret River

Escapade à Margaret River

Escapade à Margaret RiverMargaret River

A trois heures au Sud de Perth, dans l’état du Western Australia, Margaret River est l’une des régions gastronomiques et viticoles les plus réputées d’Australie Occidentale. Avec plus de 120 producteurs de vin, Margaret River produit quelques-uns des meilleurs crus de cabernet sauvignon, chardonnay, sémillon, sauvignon blanc, merlot et syrah d’Australie. Elle est également mondialement connue pour ses spots de surf. Elle a accueilli du 15 au 26 Avril dernier, le 3ème tour du Championnat Samsung Galaxy de la World Surf League, le « Drug AwareMargaret River Pro », couronnant le brésilien Adriano de Souza. L’endroit est bordé de plages incroyables et vous pourrez également visiter  des grottes préhistoriques.

Margaret River

Lors de notre passage à Margaret River, nous nous sommes laissés tenter par la visite incontournable de la Chocolaterie « Margaret River Chocolate Factory » qui vous permet de gouter gratuitement à ses chocolats noir, au lait et blanc non travaillés. Elle offre un choix important de chocolats de toutes sortes et même du chocolat sans sucre! L’endroit idéal pour les fêtes de Pâques! Mes préférés? Les croquants au chocolat lait et noir amandes, noisettes et noix de cajou!

Margaret River

Ensuite, petit détour à la fromagerie de Margaret River « The Margaret River Dairy Company » pour une dégustation (encore gratuite!) de toutes leur gamme de fromages qui ne sont bien sur en rien comparables à nos fromages français mais qui propose d’excellents cheddars et double crème. On y trouve également d’excellents yaourts frais en pot, nature ou au fruits, qui eux surpassent nos yaourts français!

  Margaret River

Et bien sûr, l’inévitable arrêt dans un vignoble!

Margaret River

Sur les conseils avisés de Cat, une amie habitant Perth, nous nous sommes laissés aller à une dégustation (encore gratuite! ils ont tous compris les Australiens!) de toute la gamme des vins du vignoble « Hay Shed Hill ».

Margaret River

Nous avons été gentiment accueillis par Ulf Mueller, qui a partagé avec nous sa passion pour le vin, ses connaissances et nous a conseillé sur les associations de mets et vins. Nous aurons dégusté, il me semble, une vingtaine de vins, dur de garder l’esprit clair! Et nous aurons fait la découverte d’un nouveau cépage, le Tempranillo! Sacrée découverte! Il s’agit d’un cépage espagnol, assez présent en Australie (jamais entendu parlé en France 🙁 ), de raisins noirs, qui lorsqu’il est bu jeune est un vin souple et accompagne parfaitement les apéritifs, pizzas et barbecue. Comme souvent dans les vignobles australiens, vous avez la possibilité de vous restaurez dans le restaurant ou le café du vignoble. Nous avons donc dégusté, dans leur café, une très bonne pizza accompagnée, vous l’aurez compris, d’un Tempranillo! Le café propose différents plats à partager, une belle variété de pizzas et plats cuisinés, ainsi que des desserts et une grande diversité de fromages dont des fromages français! Une adresse vivement conseillée pour partager entre amis ou en famille un bon vin au milieu des vignes.

Margaret River

Margaret River

Tempranillo

Merci Ulf pour cette découverte 😉 !

Il nous aura fallu une bonne après midi pour se remettre de cette journée gastronomique mais avant de quitter Margaret River, nous avons été attiré par un petit café dans le centre ville. Il s’agit du « Sidekick Cafe Margaret River ». Dès son entrée dans le café, on est ébahi par la décoration. Un énorme graff sur le mur derrière le comptoir, des plantes vertes tombant du plafond, une vitrine de gateaux plus qu’alléchante, des serveurs wouaw awesome! et des cafés qui défilent sous vos yeux avec de magnifiques dessins!

Margaret River

Margaret River

On s’assoit, pressés de recevoir nos cafés commandés au comptoir. Et là arrive mon cappuccino avec un très beau coffee art. Les australiens raffolent du coffee art!

Margaret River

Comme leurs cafés est souvent à base de lait, les baristas s’adonnent à donner forme à la crème du café. C’est tout une technique, et pour moi, même après avoir reçue une formation, j’ai très vite compris qu’il faudrait beaucoup d’années pour réussir et être expert! Ce bar à espresso vous propose de personnaliser votre café: pour-over, cold-drip ou espresso fait à partir de grains de café Dukes fraichement torréfiés. Ce café offre également un menu simple et sain allant du jus de fruit fraîchement pressé, à la tartine avocat/tomate sur pain aux graines jusqu’au douceurs tel que le Chai Spices Cupcakes, Proteins bars, Carrot Cake ou blueberry muffins!

 Margaret River

 Margaret River Margaret River

Le café est tracé jusqu’à la ferme, les produits de boulange sont à base de farine de riz, sarrasin, épeautre, quinoa, graines de chia et graines de pécan locales et les gobelets et pailles sont bio-degradables. Un café eco-friendly et very friendly! Un passage obligé à Margaret River!

Vous ne pourrez donc plus vous questionnez sur la belle Margaret River. Si vous êtes en Western Australia, Margaret River sera pour vous une destination à ne pas rater!




References:

http://www.worldsurfleague.com/events/2015/mct/1226/drug-aware-margaret-river-pro?home=1

http://chocolatefactory.com.au

http://www.hayshedhill.com.au

http://www.mrdc.com.au

http://www.mywineandcellar.com/Cepage_Tempranillo.html

coffee art

https://www.facebook.com/SidekickMargs?fref=pb&hc_location=profile_browser

https://www.facebook.com/hayshedhillwines

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.